The eviction procedure is not the same in California as in the other states in the US. While doing so, the landlords should understand all the laws and follow all the rules before they plan to evict their tenants from their property. If they fail to follow the law, then the tenants can sue the landlords.
The strict rules as set by the California state law explain that the landlords should first terminate the tenancy agreement by issuing a written notice to their tenants. This written notice should include the reason why the landlord is canceling their rental agreement with the tenants.
If the landlords fail to follow the Californian law of eviction, then you can sue your landlord. Dispute is a mailing, online secretarial, and e-scrivery service that will guide you towards the right destination to get justice in the small claims court. They can explain to you about 60 day notice California landlord eviction rule so that you can take the right step. Check their webpage to get all the information.
Ending the Tenancy in California
When the landlord feels like it is time to end the tenancy for many reasons, they should follow certain rules before proceeding further with ending the tenancy plan. The rules are listed below.
- Rent Nonpayment Notice of 3 days
The responsibility of a tenant is to make sure that rent is cleared every month on the promised date. If they fail to do so, then the landlords can issue a notice of three days to either pay the complete rent or vacate the house.
Sometimes, the tenants may either pay the rent in full or might choose to vacate the house. When this happens, the owners can deduct the remaining rent from the security deposit before paying it back. However, if the tenant doesn’t pay the rent or vacate the property, then the landlords can sue the tenants.
- Pay or Quit 15-day Notice
This notice option was introduced during the COVID-19 pandemic months for the landlords to get the rent that they are owed by the tenants. This is the notice where the landlords issue the notice of 15-days vacate or pay option to their tenants, and the tenants have to abide by this notice and should vacate the property after paying rent.
Just like the 30-day notice for vacating the property, the landlords can make use of the 60-day notice to let their tenants make enough time to either pay the rent or vacate the property. The landlords that have the tenants on their property for more than a year can issue this notice to their tenants.
Sometimes, a property will have multiple tenants, and the oldest one is staying there for more than a year. The landlords can then use this notice option to let their renting people know that they are hereby asked to vacate the property.
The landlords should make sure that they follow the rules accordingly before they plan on issuing any notice to their tenants regarding the eviction. If not, then the tenants can sue the landlords according to the laws of the state.